25 Years in the Word Mines: The Best of Graham Joyce & Second Shift [Hardcover] by Graham Joyce

Product Code: 978-1-848637-57-3
Stock Status: available to order
Brand: PS Publishing
Condition: New
VARIED GENRE THEMED Collection - Unsigned Jacketed Hardcover. A deluxe 100 signed edition (in a slipcase including a chapbook containing additional stories) limited 100 copies is also available.


  • Description
  • Product Reviews
  • Delivery & Returns
A COLLECTION by Graham Joyce
Includes the chapbook 'Second Shift' containing three additional stories and housed in a slipcase

CATEGORY Various themes covering the whole gamut of genre fiction
PUBLICATION DATE  September 2014

AFTERWORD Kelly Braffet
PAGES (Main Book) 402 (additional Chapbook) 40

Unsigned Jacketed Hardcover — ISBN 

100 Jacketed Hardcovers signed by Ella Joyce, Owen King & Kelly Braffet and with a facsimile signature from Graham Joyce. This edition is slipcased and includes an addtional chapbook of stories not collected in the standard book.— ISBN 978-1-848637-58-0

Twenty five years ago Graham Joyce and his wife Sue left the grey skies of England to live by the sea on a Greek Island. As an unpublished writer he had gone there to live in isolation to write. After the hoards of uninvited summer visitors left he was finally able to fulfil his ambition and so started a writing career. Some of the stories con-tained in this collection were written in Greece under a vine canopy with light from a hurricane lamp. Others were inspired by travels around neighbouring islands.

This collection represents a gathering of the best Graham Joyce short stories written since his stay in Greece. Settings vary from the mines of the East Midlands to the lonely landscape of the Norfolk Coast and to the frozen streets of Leningrad during WWII.

Included with this collection is a foreword by Owen King and an afterword by Kelly Braffet, as well as an individual commentary on each story by the author.

Foreword by Owen King
The Coventry Boy
Under The Pylon
The Careperson
Xenos Beach
Last Rising Sun
Gap Sickness
Eat Reecebread
A Tip From Bobby Moore
The Reckoning
The Apprentice
TheWhite Stuff
The Mountain Eats People
As Seen On Radio
First Catch Your Demon
The Oversoul
Leningrad Nights
Partial Eclipse
The Thrice Named Hill
Tiger Moth
Black Dust
An Ordinary Soldier Of The Queen
Story Notes
by Kelly Braffet


Graham Joyce, a winner of the O. Henry Award, 6 British Fantasy Awards, the World Fantasy Award, the Angus Award and Le Grand Prix d’ l’Imaginaire lives in Leicester, England. His work has been translated into over 25 languages.

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
Be the first to review this product.